Ionian Mass

A joyful celebration of science and the natural world in five movements, borrowing from the traditional form of a mass setting, but using a new, secular text by the composer.

The work's title refers both to the Ionian islands which, In the 6th century BCE, were at the heart of a revolution in thinking about nature, as well as to the musical "Ionian" mode.

Scoring: Mixed voice (SATB) choir (with some divisi) and piano.

Duration: 20 minutes

The five movements are:

  1. Mercy. A view of earth from space: slow, stately music.
  2. Glory. The wonder of the universe; a joyful movement.
  3. Truth. A statement of belief in the rational and the pusuit of knowledge; musically simple and direct.
  4. Sun. A raw, almost pagan, hymn to the sun as earth's source of power and life.
  5. Peace. A plea to the crew of "spaceship earth"; gentle and calming.

Read the text of the movements

Listen to MIDI extracts.

Browse the complete score below

Price £6.50(+p&p)